Soup

By Pedros

C4 on demand

The Olympics kicked off today (the football, at least) and reports of travel chaos: road, train and tube problems coming-in from all angles. For me, cycling into central London was a breeze - less traffic than I have ever seen on a weekday - great!

I went off to get some food at lunchtime and walked past the Channel 4 building in Horsferry Road. The snap shows the huge "thing" (installation?) in front of the building; I suspect it has something to do with the Olympics - but who knows?

I also skirted the edge of St James Park and was impressed by 1) the quality of the barriers keeping people out 2) the smartness of the soldiers on security duty 3) the traffic jam of official 2012 BMW cars (each with only one occupant - the driver).


The signage is pretty good in the Park - there are a multitude of plaques directing you to places of interest - for local Olympic sites they also tells you have long it will take you to get there (all the ones I saw said 8 minutes).

I think they are probably spending my taxes wisely on all of this... at least the BBC are giving me extra Olympic channels for my licence fee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.