and through the wire...

By hesscat

The Boss

It was Ms H's final Nat 5 exam today, 5 weeks of study leave with 1 or 2 exams a week. Mrs C and I have spent a fair amount of time helping her where we can but I've been impressed with her effort almost every day, I can't imagine having to do that again - and I probably didn't do as much as her! Anyway, wishing her luck with the results in a few months! Never mind, she still has 2 days off to do as she pleases...

So, to celebrate that, ok, it had nothing to do with that but was timed almost perfectly with that (that=exam), we dashed through to Hampden Park for Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band who brought The River Tour to celebrate 35 years since release.

I have to admit, way back then, apart from "The Big Hits", I didn't listen much to him. Being more a music lover than lyrics lover, I think I made the mistake lots of people have made thinking his songs were bigging up the USA. It wasn't really until I bought his new albums in the early 2000s did I hear the real messages and a different story and since then I've been hooked.

I don't recall going to a gig on this scale before and we've been to plenty - probably because we don't go to artists on this scale! But it was a 3 and half hour show, with no breaks and no support, over 30 songs, wow! And they are doing this every couple of days... not sure I will see a show like that again, unless he comes back.

I was busy saying to Ms H that one of the guitarists, Steven Van Zandt, looked like a character from The Sopranos and I only find out afterwards... he was in the series for 8 years and I had watched all of it. Thinking back, it is clearly him, but the bandana and his (good) acting prevented me realising the facts before me :-)

The blip is during Dancing in the Dark... he had already asked a woman, who had been holding up a sign saying "I've waited 40 years for a dance Bruce", up to dance with him, then for the ending asked this girl up to make some noise at the end.

Fab night, topped off with some excellent bants (banter) on the free train back to Central Station, that doesn't really happen back east :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.