Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Nothing Is What It Seems ....

I look out through polished glass. Blotchy grey clouds stain annonymous grey skys. It is background, non-descript & continues forever to the smudged haze of the horizon. Below a fierce wind sprints around weary trees. It hurls dry crumpled leaves into swirling masses that roam desserted footpaths searching for gutters in which to rest. 

I put on my jacket & grab my scarf that I wish was a little more serious about keeping me warm, (but alas it will do) & head for the adventure of a cold blustery autumn day. 

As I step outside the first thing that hits me (apart from the roaming leaves) is the heat. It is not cold. The fierce wind is in fact a playful breeze left over from an early Spring night. From below the dismal grey sky is polished to silver with a confetti of colours dancing through it. There are no people huddled in the street because they are all in the park running, playing & mistakingly embracing a glorious summer's day!

It is classic Melbourne & nothing is what it seems.....

I look in through polished glass. A circus of colour leaps through the air in front of me. It is bold & uncompromising, loud & demanding ....
"Step right up,  Step right up, come one come all to the amazing spectacle that is ...."

& for a moment I am lost in the dazzling maze of patterns before me.  I wonder ... "A school art project?  A craft convention?  Maybe an artist's foray into the kitch & bizaare?" I am caught up in my imagination & can only wonder if Alice has visited this set??? I step back & look up.  A stylish gold sign catches the light & flashes back at me with disdain, "Dolce & Gabbana".

I smile.

It is classic Melbourne & nothing is what it seems.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.