GeorgeCrawford

By GeorgeCrawford

Froglet's Eye

I'd been trying to photograph dragonflies on the moorland between Fairlie and Dalry in Ayrshire. Just as I was packing up to go this tiny froglet - no more than 2 or 3 cm long - leapt over my boots. The great thing about frogs at this age is that they are a beautiful golden colour. The down-side is that they are so tiny that you have to get very close. Luckily I still had a macro lens on my Nikon D300s. To get enough depth of field I used a technique called "focus stacking", taking 5 pictures in total, moving the camera forward about a millimetre at a time, then combining these into a single image on a computer. If you look closely you can see me reflected on the frog's retina as I gradually crawl prostrate towards this beautiful wee amphibian.

Modified by CombineZP

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.