Footnotes

Part of today was taking some shots for a colleague for a booklet on ancestry and genealogy. A visit to a few graveyards for some of the images she needed. An American couple were leaning on the graveyard gate at the end of a tiny lane observing the no unauthorised entrance sign. I have to admit when they left finding my inner Schuh/Freespiral and clambering leaping in. Dead men tell no tales. Peaceful place. (Extra)
Then later in Skibbereen a kind priest let me look at some 19th century baptismal records. In amongst our conversation on unused school buildings that might become libraries, the curate's three chickens and the practicalities of maintaining things, were the records I was looking at from Cape Clear Island in the 1890s. What a different world that would have been. The section I have blipped is the record for Mary Curtin Glynn, daughter of Edmund and Catherine, born and baptised in 1891. The scribbled line at the bottom is from 22 years later, when someone recorded that she married Domhnall Ó Súillabháin (the dot over the m and the b signify the letter h in old Gaelic), thall I mBrooklyn, 'over in Brooklyn' in April of 1913. Such adventure in a footnote.

(Cynthia I think you'd have loved it)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.