Life's Journey

By AndrewFyfe

Power Towers

Dover - Shetland Day 14
Hessle - Bridlington

Distance cycled: today 90.8km, total 1032.8km
Ascent: today 284m, total 5,051m

Highlight: after the luxury of two rest days staying at my parents in East Yorkshire,
my 11th day in the saddle saw me hit the double milestones of 1,000km (slightly worryingly outside an undertakers in Driffield) and 5,000m ascent on the trip to date.

Lowlight: coldest conditions of the trip so far, with dismal air temperatures for June further reduced by wind chill. I had originally consider undertaking this trip in April, but decided to defer due to weather considerations. Mmmm...

What else? Turns out I am the first ever guest in a newly opened Bridlington B&B. Nice en suite room and pleasant, enthusiastic owner, keen to get feedback. I'll defer that until I've sampled the full English ordered for 8am tomorrow.

Photo: this large sub-station, not too far north of the Humber bridge, was quite literally buzzing and crackling as I cycled past. Visually impressive too, with the pylon towers almost seeming to be dancing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.