Au Pont du Gard

Here we are
at the Pont du Gard,
highest known aqueduct
of the Roman world.

A pulley winched up
parcels to the giddy height;
perhaps they were fireworks
planned for tonight?

We were long gone
before they set them alight;
barbecued beef
was in our sight.

From the massive to the tiny,
a delight to my eyes,
some rarely seen sparrows
were a lovely surprise.

And an olive tree,
Old as the hills,
that offered a backdrop
to antiquity's thrills.

It's a fact, I rarely see 'common' house sparrows at home. So it was lovely to see lots at the Pont du Gard. The amazing aqueduct was at least as impressive as I'd expected, and the museum very informative. Also in the collage, you can see an ancient olive tree dating from 908AD (the preciseness of the date is beyond me), and a selection of numerous rooks that were coming and going from the top of the old stone brick structure. I think they probably had a nest or two up there.

And so our fun continues.  Thank you for following our travels, and apologies for the dearth of comments just now. I blame fatigue. And wine!

EDIT to add link to short movie of the pulley in action.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.