Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

Eagles Nest at Low Tide.

It has been many years since I have been down to Eagles Nest. This headland is named after a quite striking rock formation in the shape of - well, an eagles nest I guess. The above photograph only features a little of the actual outcrop which extends out of frame to the left. I just wonder about this shot though - there is a lot happening in the picture. Perhaps too much.
I didn't know how I was going to go as there was a significant climb down to the beach via a nice wooden staircase. I have some minor mobility problems and it is a significant climb back up. Once down to the beach I wandered around the headland and found some really nice little coves. Had to watch the tide though, it was rising and I didn't want to get stranded.
It as really dodgy walking over the rocks as there are several species of seaweed growing on them some of which are very slimy and slippery. I only managed to stumble into one rock pool. Ah dear, wet feet again.
It was a wonderful morning - I had the whole place to myself again. This was very well timed. As I was leaving one could see a front coming across from the WSW. As I sit here typing this it had just started to rain.

Bigger version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.