Pierowall as taken from Broughton

A good bit of Pierowall in the photo taken 'round the bay at Broughton.  The extra is also taken from Broughton and primarily shows my parents' house (Saverton) with the Westray School right behind it.

When Dad was driving down to check to see if some trim he ordered had come in, I bummed a lift as I wanted to see the calves that I knew were in the field next door.  This little guy was especially interested in the person at the fence.

A few years back a sperm whale washed ashore.  My Dad rescued the bones and displayed them at the Heritage Center.  Dad brought the bones home in the car and Mum still hasn't forgiven him as the car stunk for months!

If I stand on the shore in my parents' front yard and look to the left 'round the bay, you have a pretty good view of the Old Pierowall Kirk.  Look to the right 'round the bay and it's shore front homes.

The day started out wet and so I did some house chores but then the sun came out and so did I!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.