DancingAly

By DancingAly

Planting

I've totally wasted this week. It just hasn't felt right somehow. No prizes for guessing why. It seems 2015 was my peak. 

Weather-wise it's been dire. Grey, grey, and grey. And cold too. I've done almost nothing. I kind of haven't really wanted to. 

I did drive out to Tilford to collect another laurel hedge to replace the one that died. The nursery is by appointment only, and it's only a stone's throw from where I go to A for my appointment. I was going to try and time the two to coincide, but I couldn't. I had planned to try to squeeze it in next week when I go see A, but I knew that after work I'd have the time pressure so I decided to just go today. The guy helped me choose the right one, and popped it into my car for me. It'll have to wait a week for the gardeners to plant it, as they came today, but that's ok. I wanted some potted plants to go in my pink pots I bought at Easter, but I couldn't face Longacres- too commercial. So I spent 10 minutes in Waitrose picking out three pink(of course!) geraniums, and then went home to plant them.

I'm quite pleased with them. No doubt they'll look better once the sun is out and it feels more summery. I remember I did the same thing on this exact day last year. Except I had Tim. And I think it was the evening, that after much cajoling, I finally booked my flight to Amsterdam. I waited because I am fatalistic. Then I trusted that all was well. And then a few months later fate came down to take it all away. I don't think I deserved that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.