pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

HAIRY HARRY

Well right on time ( as he has been for the last 6 years ) Hairy Harry the Heron is back in the Linwood Avenue Canal.  He comes every year - well he has been the subject of my shutter for that long ! ( 6 yrs) and he has arrived within a week during that time.
  One might ask if its the same bird - and I'm pretty sure it is - he has a smudge on the end of his beak.  Kotuku's or white herons are solitary birds when not breeding.  They are known to frequent the same areas and I've heard the same birds return to other parts ( eg Nelson).  This bird is sacred to NZ Maori.  Welcome home 'arry!
Pretty happy with the lens for static sharpness - maybe I need a new Camera body with an increase in auto-focus ?? I feel one coming on?

I did another couple of extras for bird lovers.
rgds poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.