Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

In Memory

A drowsy day with paintwork in the house and then a sad message arrived telling me that my brother in law in Greece has passed away.
My hiking son had seen him recently when in Crete and told me he's seriously in poor health with the cancer eating him up, so the news of his death does not come by full surprise. Now the idea of not ever meeting him again and not ever having another arguement with him hurts and makes me sad.

The past few weeks he's spent in Athens hospital as a patient, hoping to find recovery, but his condition was too poor already. Tonight his remains will travel the sea down to Crete one last time... as if he's already travelling with the Ferryman Charon. Only his closest relatives accompany him one more time now for to rest him in Crete's soil ~ in thoughts I am with them since our phonecalls of earlier today.
Being his eldest son my nephew staged the funeral

The Aegean from Chania's harbour with upflying doves depicts my thoughts on Spiros and his last passage today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.