Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

IT'S BEE-HIND YOU!

Second day of glorious summer weather in this part of Scotland. 20 degrees and rising. Was working in the garden at 5.30 am, appreciating the cool of the day, so felt I deserved a little siesta under the cherry tree. Not for me the busy life of this bee. I love watching them land on the antirrhinum (snapdragon). Their wieght on the lower lip opens the flower and then they enter, but really struggle to get back out, having to wiggle their little behinds furiously. If their pollen baskets are full it is almost impossible. I know how they feel - I had the same difficulty getting out of the raspberry canes this morning with my big bowl of freshly picked fruit. Honey bees can't enter snapdragons, so the bumblers have them all to themselves.

Had my feet done at lunch time by the wonderful Sharon. Out this evening with two lovely friends. Meanwhile, lazing on a summer's afternoon in summertime. Gosh, I am giving my age away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.