Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Mein München: A wie Arcisstraße

My Munich: A stands for Arcisstraße


As my underground series is currently paused (the next station is being revamped), I decided to start a new series: an alphabetical sequence of my most important Munich streets. This series won't necessarily depict the most famous or beautiful places, but streets that are of personal significance to me.

The start of the series comes quite naturally to me: I am living in Arcisstraße, and my alma mater is in this street as well. The street runs through the heart of Munich's art district and passes (from north to south) Alter Nordfriedhof, Neue Pinakothek, Technical University Munich (TUM), Alte Pinakothek, University of Television and Film (HFF) and State Museum of Egyptian Art, University of Music and Performing Arts (in the former Führerbau of the NSDAP), and Königsplatz with Glyptothek and State Collection and Antiquities. Mind you, the street is only 1,500 metres long, and all the mentioned sights are within the southern 500 of those. The street itself is named after the French commune Arcis-sur-Aube, where the Battle of Arcis-sur-Aube took place, which was part of the War of the Sixth Coalition, and Napoleon's penultimate battle before his abdication and exile.

The image shows the main Arcisstraße entrance of the Technical University Munich, my alma mater.







"College is for ugly girls, who can't get modelling contracts!" "No, college is for women, who don't want to marry the first idiot they meet and squeeze out his bastard moron children." - (That '70s Show, S2xE12)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.