Ullswater

A leisurely start, and a wonderful flower filled wander with team IttH. What to do next....
Having tested how my wrist and ankle responded to rock climbing again it seemed only sensible with the thermometer reading 26.5°C  (it was so hot I looked up the local area record, 28.1°C at Penrith) to test them at kayaking. I was confident the ankle would manage the 10m walk to the shore, but a little less so about the wrist - but fortunately all felt fine :)
The little beach I launched from was crowded with families enjoying themselves, but 5 minutes energetic paddling had me in the middle of the Lake, not a sound to be heard, watching insects skim the surface. Eventually though I could see the steamer in the distance so paddled hard for the Southern shore, I've learnt before that they have a surprisingly bouncy wake. I then made my way to Kailpot crag, but looking West I could see the sky darkening and began to notice the first drops of rain so I headed back across to the beach, stopping on the way to admire the star of today's blip, who didn't appear to be working nearly as hard as me. I loaded the kayak and jumped in the car just as the heavens opened, perfect.
Getting back to Orton we've remained dry, so all the lawns were  mowed and then a glass of something cold was called for in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.