Should have worn a hat!

Whole day spent on the allotment - what bliss! Was there from 11 to 7.30 and my 15 squash are in! Took me several hours to dig and clear half a bed of couch grass, thats even with it being covered the last few months! It was all go on the place today - several new faces - One woman in a lovely skirt and sunhat passed me and I smiled and said hello and then realised they were a man - either a man who cross dresses or a woman on the way to transforming her body to be what it should be. Bizarrely she later took the hat off and her hair was close cropped. She rather annoying started a fire and I was relieved the wind was blowing away from my plot! 
I had 2 cups of Rhubarb tea, one with Colourful Mai and another with Chatty Roger on the top plot. I then got chatting to another newbie on the plot opposite to mine - he was strimming the very overgrown plot for his friend who it turns out has turned to raw food eating. Good in the summer but I'm thinking might get harder in the winter. He asked me about composting and whether I did it - do I do composting!!! I have 8 of the buggers! So I gave one to him! 
Seeing how late it had got I decided to slug pellet and water my squash in rather than leave it to when I returned in the evening - I'm hoping the slugs don't eat my squash after all the nurturing and hard work of putting them in! Once done I gathered my stuff including the sunhat that I had taken off and left on a post when the sun went behind some clouds for a while. 
Back home I realised I should never have taken that hat off - I am sunburnt! I do so hate myself when that happens - so stupid and avoidable. So lashings of Aftersun applied! Next more pile cream for Snowdrop - who promptly pooped all over me and boy was it potent! I swear I can still smell it on my hands after several washes with gardeners pumice handwash and a nail brush! Her prolapse is not looking any better - it seems to go in a little and then she poops and out it pops - and another bloodied egg lain today. Vets tomorrow eve if no improvement and I will ask for a stitch to be put in for 24 hours - just will be so sad if she has to be put down when she is so healthy in every other way.
On my return to lock the girls up for the night I came across The Raw Eater and his son inspecting their plot. We got chatting and he was dismayed to hear how long it had taken me to dig half a bed and remove all the couch grass roots. He asked if he could just plant stuff in the beds his mate had dug over - I said he could but probably wouldn't get good results! He also asked what he could put in and whether he had left it too late - he hasn't for peas, beans and salad crops, but he was again dismayed by me telling him he'd need something to deter slugs - not keen on pellets he was amazed to hear about beer traps. Oh dear - I don't have a good feeling about him producing enough crops to sustain his raw diet by the allotment alone! 
I'm now about to eat and then fall into bed - I aim to be up early to do the chickens to be ready at 8.30 for Colourful Mai - we are having a spa day at Fowey with a cream tea after! I'm thinking a back massage might be off the agenda with my sunburn - but I think I can imagine a swim and hot tub and the cream tea! Just what i need after todays marathon allotment session!
P.S. My plot has loads of Columbines flowering at the moment - some can be seen to the right behind my sunhat - I prefer the name Columbines to  Aquilegias and definitly to Grannies Bonnets!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.