Today's Special

By Connections

Glowing!

Continuing this weekend of pleasures, we went to the Whatcom Symphony Orchestra's final concert of the 2015-2016 season this afternoon, where I reveled in renowned pianist Alessio Bax's sensitive performance in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73, "Emperor," particularly the poignant adagio second movement. (Hear Daniel Barenboim perform -- and conduct -- the concerto here). 

Our seats were in the center of the Mount Baker Theatre, six rows from the stage, and my entire being -- body, mind, and soul -- was filled with the sound of the orchestra and the soloists. I find live orchestral music incredibly moving, particularly when it is as lyrical as this work by Beethoven.

Less moving, however, was the featured work on the second half of the program, Mahler's Symphony No. 1 in D Major, "Titan." For me, it seemed overflowing with themes and on the bombastic side, although I could not fault the orchestra's performance of this complex, challenging work.

A delightful post-concert repast at Rock and Rye Oyster House, one of our favorite restaurants here, with good friends C and A, wrapped up the day beautifully. 

What a lovely weekend I've had! Over the next couple of days, I hope to catch up with your journals.

Blip 1561

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.