Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

When life gives you lemons...

train strikes and rainfalls
disrupt our daily habits --
make us talk a bit

I had shared the same platform for months with this lady, not five metres away from each other, and had not exchanged two words with her. The difficulties in the transport system, both because of the heavy rainfalls and some strikes, made us meet somewhere we usually don't last week, and we got to talking. Not much, but much more than we ever had.

This morning she was on our usual platform, as was I because the train service between home and Paris had resumed. We talked a bit more... about the weather and the strikes of course. :-D

Isn't it funny how we talk to our fellow human beings much more when we find ourselves out of our comfort zone? The hellish trip back from Toulouse on Friday illustrated this to perfection: I talked with my neighbours in the line at the airport, on the plane, on the suburb trains... And I'm no chatterbox, though I do like a good natter from time to time. I think I just needed to feel reassured that I wasn't alone (hahahaha! the crowds around me should have been enough to prove it, but no!) in my "plight".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.