Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Dining Al Fresco

One of those rare British days when sitting outside to eat in the evening is a pleasure.  We were due to eat out with a good friend on her birthday, but decided on a last minute change of venue to try out a newly opened pub.  This is familiar territory for us; we had our wedding breakfast here almost 29 years ago.  

The last time I stood at this spot, the whole site was derelict and I was being asked for my view on redeveloping the site for houses.  I must admit I was torn.  As you can imagine the site evokes fond memories.  I was really pleased when I drove past a few weeks ago to see it open as a pub.  I was going to keep it a secret from my wife until our anniversary and then take her there, but when the weather was so good, and knowing it had a great patio area, well it just had to be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.