A visiting small brown moth

I was in a bit of a rush this morning as I was driving to Bristol to see DailyKeith's final BA show at UWE.  It was Keith who introduced me to blipping back in 2010 soon after we became friends. Whilst checking my emails with my first coffee of the day, I spotted something fluttering on Bomble's cloth seat on the window sill of my workroom. I got up to see what it was and found tis small moth looking for a bit of shadow in which to hide from the day.

Last night before I went to bed, I was shutting down my computer at my desk and noticed how many moths were fluttering about outside the windows. When the weather warms up we get a lot of varied moths which seem to come in from the nearby fields and woodland, attracted by the lights. I love seeing them, but don't like them becoming trapped indoors, as they usually find a dark space and then can't escape.

I moved this moth which had landed on my spare camera battery, and seeing that it wasn't very active decided to fit my macro lens and grab a quick shot. I couldn't set up a tripod so had to handhold but was pleased that I could get so close without disturbing the insect.  Once I'd finished I put the cloth with the moth still unmoving on it into a darker place and then within ten minutes I checked and found it had disappeared somewhere. I am offering it as a 'Tiny Tuesday' challenge although I now gather that it has a theme called 'Weather' so I can't really find a way to relate that to this picture!

My trip turned out well and I spent a good couple of hours with Keith and also met a few other visitors to the show. I was really impressed with Keith's three key images, all shot on a large format camera he had bought for the job on location in various parts of Spain.  He also produced a really fine book of the project and hope to get a copy when he comes to visit me next week. I expect he should and will get a First which he deserves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.