Light in the world

“You have to find what sparks a light in you so that you in your own way can illuminate the world.” 
― Oprah Winfrey

Today gave me one of those classic moments in teaching when watching their faces in rapt attention as the penny drops, the light turns on, inspiration strikes its match and perceptions change forever. Magic.

“It may be that you are not yourself luminous, but that you are a conductor of light. Some people without possessing genius have a remarkable power of stimulating it.” 
― Arthur Conan Doyle

Later, for the record: A day that was busy, actually exhausting, cold and mostly wet, but with some remarkable moments in the classroom, that finished, after Department Heads' meeting with a very pleasant chinwag with Alison over a beer and a pizza at Bizim Tepe (where I took the photo).  Learnt that another bomb attack here in central Istanbul this morning killed 11, injured 36 and I feel my bizazz from my oh-so satisfying day just shrivel up and fizzle away and I am left bereft of understanding, most especially in what is for many, the Holy month of Ramadan, of the second syllable in humankind.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.