Friday Foto

By drmackem

In or Out

Another day in full lycra riding past Bolzano, we're now in a small town with Keswick like drizzle.
I've been pondering whilst crossing the alps about this Euro vote thing we've got ourselves into.
I've wondered about me in full lycra and can't decide if its an advert for in or out - I'll spare you the image.
More seriously passing through Germany, Austria and this very German/Austrian bit of Italy reminds me of the spectre of nationalism over the last 100 years. Austria's recent election which saw the right wing nationalist party miss being elected by a very small margin. I think we need to consider the impact of our departure on the spectre of nationalism throughout Europe, it will give a strong hand to many right wing parties who harbour those within their ranks on the margins of fascism. 
It's complicated and not made clearer in the round by the snake oil politics of fear of the Remain or Brexit campaigns. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.