Life's Journey

By AndrewFyfe

Forget-Me-Not

Dover - Shetland Day 20
Shilbottle (Nr Alnwick) - Berwick-Upon-Tweed (Nr Scotland)!

Distance cycled: today 88.5km, total 1,397.9km
Ascent: today 466m, total 7628m

Highlight: encountering a National Cycle Route Millennium signpost on the (rather rugged) cliff top path approaching today's journey's end, it said "Scotland Border 4 miles". Now that made feel like I am making real progress, although turning west tomorrow into border country means it will be about 12 more miles before I cross back into Scotland.

Lowlight: I am generally fairly fastidious about gathering my personal possessions after a rest stop. For some reason I headed out of a hotel in Embleton believing my phone was in my bag. When I realised it wasn't, 4km down the road, whilst it was very demoralising to turn around to retrieve it, I was also relieved to find it was still gently charging, just where I had left it.

What else? Interesting conversation with my English AirBnB host before I left this morning. I was lauding the area and saying it was about the only part of England I could ever imagine moving to, were we to leave Scotland (not in the plan). She was saying how similar the area is to Scotland in many ways - and was of the 'take us with you' persuasion during last year's Scottish Independence referendum. My destination of Berwick-Upon-Tweed has switched between being located in England and Scotland no less than 9 times!

Photo: a very overcast flat light today meant that scenic shots of some great views and castles weren't done justice. So I thought I'd go close up and share just one of the dozens of flowers present in the hedges and verges at this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.