Plus ça change...

By SooB

Shiny Horse

Market this morning with CarbBoy as my loyal companion (I know he's only there for the sweetie shop trip that is his reward for enduring the bread shop queue, but it's still nice to have the company) to do many errands.  One of which was collecting one of TallGirl's presents from the framer (the DIY shop, which is our framer of choice as the 'real' framer seems to have a 2 month lead time).  It's a print of Whistlejacket which one of her Godparents bought her.  It has come out really well and caused quite a stir in the shop, with the shop assistant wanting to hear the whole history of the painting (I didn't have much to give) and insisting on showing it to all her bosses.  I ended up feeling as feted as if I'd painted it.

After failing to garden (omg far too hot) I tackled CarbBoy's school registration forms.  I'm now wishing I hadn't used omg already.  Let's just say that it's the first time I've needed research to help me fill in a form.  Mr B and I are, apparently, in the liberal professions.  Ooh, I say.  (Why do I need to know that for a school form???)  Anyway, that's all the easy bits done, now I have an A4 sheet of to-do items to fill in the rest (by next Wednesday) including items like "Tetanus booster". (For CarbBoy, not me - I'm not sure the school would get away with being that prescriptive...)

The afternoon was, perhaps inevitably, taken up with a trip to Carcassonne to deposit Mr B at the airport for another trip to the UK.  This was for the fun reason of a band rehearsal, though I think some dull meetings are being tacked on.  On the way (we are seeking a new route) we went through a village we'd never heard of (Roumen) which was stunningly beautiful, so on the way back I somehow despite the lack of a map reader found my way there, and stopped for a photo.  With the sun in the way and only an iPhone it was not a blippable shot, but I was stopped in the street by a group from Baltimore looking for a restaurant - I think they were delighted that the only visible person in the village turned out to speak English.  So that was a nice chat.  Though obviously not being from round there, I couldn't help much with the restaurant apart from directing them to the nearest touristy town (which had a chance of having a restaurant that would be open).

Home down some unintentional grass-in-the-middle-of-the-road detours in time to pick TallGirl and pal up from riding.  The foal (awaited for six long weeks) has finally been born, but was refusing to pose for my camera so, to spare you a shot of a pony's bum, here is TallGirl's shiny horse for the day (Obelix) having a gratefully received shower.

Dinner, West Wing, same old routine.

Often I look up the spelling of french words on the internet with a search term like "French for insert word here".  Today I had my first occasion to look up a word with "Anglais pour insert word in french here".  Gulp.  (Garden, since you ask.)  (I know.  I just couldn't figure it out.  And to think I mocked TallGirl for cabage. Sheesh.)

There's a backblip for Monday, but only Lesley really needs to look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.