OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Papa Westray puffin

I was volunteering today with the RSPB on Papa Westray- or Papay as it is commonly known. A dozen or so of us were helping to survey not birds but primroses...Scottish Primroses (primula scotica). I never claimed to be macho! The flower only grows in Orkney and a couple of other locations. It must have looked pretty surreal to the occasional hiker that went by...twelve people on hands and knees, nose close to the ground (the flowers are tiny), moving slowly along lanes between lines of string. At one point I felt like I was in The Prisoner and should stand and yell 'I am not a primrose counter; I am a free man!' But then I would've lost count. On the nearby cliffs were many puffins which looked very puzzled at our actions.
On the ferry home we heard of a rare bird...a European roller, which had appeared in Finstown. Some of us went through and managed to get distant but good views. My first roller, a good way to finish a long day.
More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.