Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Baby Ballerina at Markova House

Carys had one of her birthday present experiences today. A Swan Lake Youth Workshop with the English National Ballet at their headquarters, Markova House.

While she had a fabulous morning, Mummy wandered aimlessly round Kensington Gardens and Gloucester Road. At 12.30 I picked up one seriously bouncing girl and we went for lunch. It was the we decided that not only was it too nice a day but that we hadn't got enough time to go round Kensington Palace and do it justice, so it was left for another day. Instead we wandered round Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, eating ice cream and talking in the sun. (I changed the photo when I saw on the computer how poor the other shot was.)

I also gave her some news she had been waiting for, it wasn't what she wanted to hear and initially really floored her. But then with a maturity that amazed me, she worked it round and came out more positive than I thought would have been possible. She discussed my running, how my dream had been to go to the Olympics and how that never happened (even as a spectator!) but how I have done things that most people haven't and how I had some amazing experiences and made most of my best friends along the way because I kept trying and kept believing. I think she took it all on board and is looking for the next opportunity already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.