Peony

I got some peonies from our lovely Florist today and this one opened first, couldn't resist a blip of it. 
Last night we went to the Science Festival in Cheltenham and heard a very interesting talk on the History of the Gene by Siddhartha Mukherjee. He wrote "The Emperor of all Maladies" about cancer and won the Pulitzer for it in 2011 and he was talking about his new book. An incredibly clever man, he managed to clearly explain information about genetics that I never thought I would be able to take in. He made me feel like I want to become a scientist! It was good to see a lot of teenagers in the audience, hopefully he has inspired them as he did me. If you are near Cheltenham the festival is on till Sunday and many tickets are half price.

Tiles for the garden room came today (we took advantage of an offer). It's been a day of light chores and a little paperwork and two strolls into the village including one for an ice-cream. Well, who knows how long this gorgeous weather will last!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.