An Infestation Of Love

A very busy day. Our living room was wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling stacked with boxes and furniture ready for my brother to move out as and when the council find him new accommodation. This morning, while Gary was at work, I carried everything upstairs to Mum's (then) empty bedroom. We now have our living room back to normal so that we can invite people back to our place for a wake.

I was very happy to hear that my neighbour, who will always be Auntie Brenda to me, was delighted to take possession of Mum's Japanese dolls, her tea services and, best of all, her huge collection of ceramic mice. I know these gifts will be treasured and I am sure that Mum is delighted to know that they have gone to a good home. Auntie Brenda, the white haired lady, has been our neighbour ever since Mum moved to 4, Forestside Avenue when I was four years old. She is like  a much loved member of our family. Her daughter-in-law, Angie, is also a lovely, lovely lady and I think you can see how much she treasures these mice and the associated memories of my Mum.

So, the house is now a little emptier as if it too is slowly passing away. It is hard to believe that this house and our neighbours will soon be ours no more. Still, we have to let go. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.