stujphoto

By stujphoto

Driftwood & Thrift

I don't know whether it has been the long rainy winter we have had but the thrift growing at the edges of the salt marsh and in the dunes is very prolific this year. I took some close ups, which involved lying prone on the ground, on my walk with the dogs this morning. However, I then came across this piece of driftwood which under todays lighting looked particularly sculptural and was surrounded by thrift flowers so I decided that this had to be my blip. For the effort I put in getting the close-up images of the the thrift plants I have included one of these as my extra.

The 'driftwood' seems to have arrived on this non-seaward side of the dunes long ago as it has been in this same place for ever since we moved to East Lothian nine years ago and has been the subject of many a blip over the past four years. The salt marsh must have flooded to some depth for it to have floated round here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.