Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Still Life of Favorites

Today was dedicated to making a chocolate cake for my husband's birthday. I have made this cake many times (it was my Dad's favorite) but not since I have lost enough brain cells to worry about the results. It seems to be a self fulfilling prophesy since I poured the batter in the pan before adding the eggs. Rectified that oversight with only minor damage and left the cake to cool while I rushed off to get a haircut. Driving to the haircut I suddenly thought:
Ozzie is quite tall when he puts his paws on the kitchen counter
I left the cooling cake rather close to the edge
I left the door to his room open
Chocolate is poisonous for some dogs
Followed by:
Should I go back?
But I'll be late for my haircut
By the time I go back he'll have eaten it if he's going to.
Chocolate is poisonous to some dogs.
I decided to carry on to the haircut.
He didn't eat the cake. Good dog.....

Having spent the better part of the day on these endeavors I had to fall
back on what is fast becoming standby--a picture of something I have acquired in the course of my life which makes me happy--in this case a footed bowl from the Metropolitan Museum in New York, a bottle of wine from one of our favorite wineries in Sonoma County, and a picture of a village in the Italian Alps .

Thanks to my husband for standing behind me holding up a towel against the glare and resulting unwanted reflections.

Now it's time to go open that bottle of wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.