The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Drippy Blip

The Northeastern United States has been hit with a lot of big storms today. Where I live in New Jersey, we have only had a bit of thunder and a nice steady rain. No high winds, no tornado warnings. Just rain.

As I waited at the train station for my daughter's train, the sky blackened and large droplets of water hit my windshield. The train was 4 minutes late, which is unusual for NJ Transit.

As the train doors opened, commuters, seasoned in their daily grind, popped open their umbrellas without so much as a passing thought. It was automatic. I was mesmerized by the finesse with which they each managed to cover their heads without poking one another's eyes out.

I was certain that my daughter did not have an umbrella on her, and hoped that the droplets would not turn into a downpour before she reached the car. As soon as she settled into the car, the sky opened up and I could see that she was not in a very good mood. Taking a broadway dance class is a bit grueling, and today was tougher than usual.

Stormy weather, inside and outside the car. At least she didn't get wet.

My mother would always tell me, "This too shall pass." I used to roll my eyes at her whenever she said that phrase. I refused to believe that my horrible moment in time would not last an eternity.

I refrained from saying that today, and told a story about the time my college orchestra conductor called me a "cabbage head" in front of the entire group of fellow conservatory students. I wanted to die.

At first, I don't think she believed me, but then it hit her. Cabbage Head was far worse than needing to work on her facial expressions when she danced.

Today's blip features raindrops dancing on my windshield, highlighted by the glow of a nearby street lamp.

Droplets of yellow and orange on a grey, rainy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.