Return to the North

By Viking

The view from...

1/3 of the way up the Skyline. Anyone who lives in / knows Murchison knows about the skyline walk. It is a 1.5km hike up to the top of a local hill and from which you can see the whole of the town.
It has been looming there for the last 6 years (the amount of time I have lived in NZ?murch) as a talisman. Nightmarish stories from others about how steep it is. My sister-in-law said at one point she had to walk backwards it was so steep.
Today I decided I was going to make a first attempt on it! I was realistic, I knew I wouldn't make the top and after years of doing very little exercise at all, especially climbs, I wanted to just 'have a go' and see what it was really like.

Well I managed a 500m climb! And I mean ALL CLIMB. Now to some this would be pathetic and 500M doesn't sound very much but it flipping well is when there is NOT ONE METRE of level ground in that 500m!!!

The view from the top apparently is spectacular. Because I didn't make the top I can't blip that (YET!!!) This shot was from about 300m which is the only vaguely clear view I got.

It's not up because it's a great shot - it's up cos I made it this far without having a heart attack and I've got the shot to prove it ! :-))))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.