La vida de Annie

By Annie

Amigas

Spent the afternoon with my friend Sara who's visiting the island until Friday, but staying almost as far away from here as you can get. Public transport is limited to one bus a day to the major cities, and taxis are ridiculously expensive, so she was picked up from the shop (where I found her happily promoting the business to passers-by) and I drove her back before nightfall to the hotel, where I fixed the air-conditioning in their room. It was a high-tech jobbie which switched off if the window was open, but the room got so hot without it they kept opening the window for air.....
In the middle we had a nice walk around the perimeter path in the village with the dogs (very hot) and a lovely lunch at my favourite bar in a nearby resort. With all the gabbing I totally forgot to take pictures (unheard of), even of my food (baked aubergines). Sara asked some fellow diners to take our picture together, and the patriarch of the family, while noisily skyping friends and treating them to a panorama on his phone, instructed his somewhat clueless wife to take the shot, insisting it be done against the very bright bay and sky. I restrained myself from saying we'd be mere silhouettes, as he was VERY sure of himself (best let those people have their head sometimes). He then treated us to advice on what button to press to review the shots! Wish I'd had a business card on me...
Of the two which were not blank, this is the only one with neither of us blinking, although I looked happier on the other one. The quality is the best I could do in rescuing us from black silhouette-dom. I was tempted to not crop, leaving the clutter around the edges and the 30 deg slant on the horizon, but just couldn't bear to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.