A Hidden Treasure

I woke up in foggy San Francisco this morning!  I KNEW I had a nice view from my window but when I opened the curtains I could barely see across the street or or indeed down TO the street from the 16th floor of my hotel room!  

Thankfully the sun eventually came out later in the morning and I decided to head down to a favourite quiet oasis in this huge city.

I stumbled upon the Fort Mason Community Garden a couple of years ago when I was walking around the area and was delighted to find that since this is on public land, visitors are welcome. This garden has been in existence since the 1970s, has 125 plots and a 7+ year waiting list!  There are plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view and of course, take pictures!  Or to paint, as this woman is doing!

Not only is the garden a hidden treasure in itself, but the main reason I went there was because I saw that there was a Geocache in the garden - another hidden treasure!  The cache here is the oldest continuous cache in San Francisco County and has had almost 4000 logged visits since the cache was placed in 2001.

It was a very easy find, which was good since I am very new to this Geocache thing!  This was my second find!  I even met some other cachers - locals who had not realized this beautiful garden was right on their doorstep!  That's the great thing about Geocaching - discovering interesting places, sometimes right in our own neighborhood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.