A little unsure

I suspect this is the same little chap that I saw yesterday, never daring to come out of a pile of branches on the floor and seeming to have no grown up company.  He was in the same vicinity today, still looking unsure, still with no adult around but being braver more out in the open.  I think it's a juvenile robin.

It was a tough choice on the photo today.  In the same tree was a little owl and a pair of black caps with beaks full.  Once they realised the little owl had flown in, they were less happy than me to find him there and he wasn't allowed to hang around for long.  A little further on, I saw him fly into a tree nearby and calling to another across the field.  Sitting on the rocks on the edge of the moors, the upper farmland was littered with families of thrushes and, on the way back home, I had a close encounter with a chiffchaff with another beak full.

It's been a day for the birds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.