Stuart9613

By Stuart9613

Song Thrush

I saw George Monbit on TV earlier this week and what a self promoting arsehole he is.The talk of re-wilding the countryside is complete crap and just distracts from the real problems in the countryside.I have lived on this farm for over fifty years and the decline in wild flowers and bird life is simply shocking.Over ten years since I have seen a partridge a bird we used to have running down the lane.

The push for ever cheaper food is part of a very complicated problem.Perhaps each time there is a push for cheaper and cheaper food a bird or a flower dies.The public wants cheap food and have no real concerns for the environment only paying it lip service along as it costs them nothing from their own pockets.Simpler to just blame the producers for giving them what they want.If you think I am wrong just look at the success of Aldi etc.

This has got me thinking of what I can do myself in a very small way.Probably little or nothing.However I may be able to buy a couple of acres that joins my nursery and perhaps cultivate and sow it in such a way to encourage native wild flowers which may increase insects and maybe birds.Hares would be nice but how long they would last is debatable because we still get people who come out of the urban sprawl and hunt with their dogs regularly.I will make enquiries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.