Auguries

By McCaviti

Jump Rope for Heart

I had been going to call this Jump-Off (as per the note from school) until I discovered this term had unfortunate connotations - at least in juxtaposition with this picture (and this model)!

Anyway, this year the school participated in Jump Rope for Heart, the culmination of the skipping craze that started in Term 2. I'm not sure why it's called Jump Rope for Heart in Australia, but I'll keep those thoughts to myself and suppress the Rule Britannia style anti-Americanisms that seem to be bubbling to the surface.

At least we still call them skipping ropes!

Everyone wore red for the day, as a symbol of good health (in children), or apoplexy (in adults attempting to skip).

I wasn't there for the skip-off so Im kindly agreed to give me a show. She suffered for her art/heart - it was a very frosty, foggy morning, and "it hurts my pinkies"

When did we start calling them pinkies, btw?

Better stop this now....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.