Flying Orders

This is Keith giving some instructions to Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston, AK, AFC (Retired) at the opening of the Narromine Aviation Museum.

Sir Angus, a most eminent Australian, is the former head of the Australian Defence Forces and was visiting to officially open the museum.

Keith is a former member of the RAAF, retired farmer and builder of a replica of the 1907 Wright Flyer Model A, the only replica in the world to have actually flown, which is on exhibit in the museum.

More importantly he was a friend of my father and arranged to have him seated next a friend of his bride at their wedding.
Seven months later there was another wedding and ten months after that I arrived :-)

Keith and Jean lived on the farm next door to us and the lady standing beside him is his daughter, Jeanette.
Somewhere else I have blipped a picture of the two of us on our first day at school together.

We were invited to the opening as my father owned a Rolls Royce Merlin engine out of a Mosquito aircraft which he gave to the museum on long term loan.
The extra is of my sister, brother and me next to the engine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.