Things I'm crap at

I have a real problem charging people a decent price for my artwork.
I don't know why. Confidence?
Three people told me I don't charge enough at the local fair last week. One even turned down a discount and paid me the full price. I'm just really squeamish about asking a fair price.
But enough is enough. A stranger has just got in touch on Facebook to ask me to do a pic of his girlfriend's bull that she has reared from a calf. I've given him a price. A fair and reasonable price......he's gone all quiet. Not a peep.
Oh man, an art life is a stressful life.
Someone came round the house to pick up two portraits of their children today. I felt sick, I was shaking. Ridiculous!
Then a lovely Argentenian couple came round and bought a puffin!
I think I prefer it when people just buy what I've done. It is what it is and they buy it on that basis.
I do hope the bull man gets in touch though. I'll be paranoid and nervous until he does.
Confidence, confidence, confidence. C'mon Hayls!


Update - Yay! Just this second got a message. He's happy with the price.

Well, thank goodness. I'm an emotional wreck after today :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.