Likes and dislikes

I like catching up on sleep and then looking across a freshly mown meadow at Ely Cathedral. I like going to Superdrug as I've inherited my mother's habit of buying cut price shower gels when I'm not remotely close to running out.

I don't like receiving propaganda from the Leave EU campaign. Thanks for including the map of countries that want to join the EU which handily shows how close Iraq and Syria are to Turkey. With no rational basis for such thoughts I now feel effectively scare-mongered that the country will be overrun by machine gun toting ISIS warlords if Turkey is allowed to join. Which it likely won't be in most of our lifetimes.

The economic arguments centre on the drain on the country by immigration and the high levies sent to Brussels. The wealthiest may have to be left to their own devices as arguments won't resonate but it saddens me that there's a massive number of non-wealthy Brits whose rhetoric is peddling anti-immigrant language because their perception is that immigrants are clogging up the chiropodists waiting room. By voting to leave the EU these people are placing wildly misplaced faith in the government which they should see is the real cause of cuts to services across the board. And those cuts aren't going to be suddenly reversed outside of the European Union as the government will pursue the same approach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.