Pixelfoto's Journal

By Pixelfoto

The Big Issue

Back blip

A day in London to attend the UPP council meeting. We got through the business quickly and the meeting was over by 2.40 pm. My train wasn't until 4.30 so I was wondering where I could go for some photography and get back to King's Cross in time. One of the other council members suggested going to Waterloo and photographing the Jubilee Bridge. He had to get from Euston to Waterloo for his train home and thought it would take 20 - 30 minutes. So I hopped on the tube with him and travelled to Waterloo.

I didn't manage a photo of the bridge itself but did see some interesting people. Just as I got onto the bridge this Big Issue seller asked if I would buy his last copy so that he could finish for the day and get something to eat. I willingly bought the magazine, as we often do, but said I would like his picture in return. He was happy to pose for me. I told him I couldn't hang around as I had to get back to King's Cross. He suggested I cross the bridge to Embankment tube station and go from there. My friend had told me to change at Leicester Square for King's Cross and I had remembered Embankment was the station before Waterloo. So that is what I did, snapping some other people on the way.

Towards the other end of the bridge I could see a small crowd of people looking down. I had already spotted a lot of cyclists below and when I looked saw that it was the naked bike ride. This annual event has taken place in London since 2004, according to organisers, who say the demonstration aims to highlight the vulnerability of cyclists as road users while protesting against car dependency. My photographs of the cyclists were not worthy of posting in extras but I have add one of the 'I'm In' referendum campaigners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.