Reflections on a photography course

Please excuse the large number of extra shots from today's photography course at Lyme Regis run by the excellent Huw Alban. The weather was kind, meaning it was dry but without sunshine which was a blessing and in some ways a disappointment. Flat light meant no harsh shadows or detail being washed out by full sun but it meant the sky was grey and so was the sea. But you have to work with what you get.

The course was first rate. I learned so much about the technical side of photography and the operation my old Panasonic Z48 which in turn helped with the creative side too.

We spent time on close-up work on beach hut features, long exposures using stop filters, the harbour, people and finally the ammonites graveyard. Talking things over with Huw reaffirmed in my own mind that taking photographs is a very personal act; you're trying to tell a story that invites other people in. Listen to others by all means but be your own judge and critic. The day also confirmed that my next camera will be another bridge, probably the Z100 as I'm familiar with the make and it will be able to do most of the stuff I want to do.

No photographer could ever tire of Lyme Regis, there is so much of interest from the small scale to the big picture and all stops in between.

I've taken the liberty of added several extra shots, some of which I like while others are a bit of fun. Hope you like them. Here's to a similar day in the future.

Thank you for all your comments on my previous blips and my apologies for not yet commenting on your journals too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.