knit 1 girl 1

By knit1girl1

Nature day

It's been a busy day today. Managed to get up at a sensible time so that we could walk the dogs and see if it was time for Jake the butterfly to leave his home. Unfortunately, the weather wouldn't let him and we think his wings still need to dry out a bit more.
Then Thom and I headed out with his 2 friends to go rock pooling with the Clyde Muirshiel Rangers at the Pencil near Largs. The weather has returned back to proper west coast summer with blustery showers and the odd bit of sunshine. So, we braved the winds and had a picnic at the beach before getting our nets and clambering over the rocks.
It was great fun and the kids thoroughly enjoyed crawling about looking for good pools and then finding hidden gems. We found starfish, anemones, echinoids, shrimps, whilst others in the group found crabs, eels, and even some shrimp. The kids absolutely loved it and I've promised to take them down Seamill at some point with their own nets to try and find more things.
I then took them to the play park in Largs before coming home for a small play date at Largs.
Feeling a healthy tired and not sure if Thom will manage to stay awake to watch the Olympics opening ceremony tonight. I need to as I need to cast-on my Ravellenics shawl that I'm doing. I'm already fearing that I'm not going to be able to get it done before the Olympics ends. Here's hoping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.