Leaving for home

The drive to work this morning was more straightforward than I had expected. The motorway onramp I have been using is closed from this morning until some time in October; don't know why. So I used the same onramp to the motorway I had used awhile ago, and there were no delays. Parking at the hospital was also simpler than it often is. 

Then I discovered that over the weekend there had been a relatively large number of admissions, most of them from "out of area". Patients who should have been admitted to another inpatient unit, and could not be as that unit was full so they came to us. The end result was that with seeing my share of the new admissions, assessing those for discharge, and dealing with those whose treatment needed attention for various reasons, my intern and I were busy until after dark. 

So this photo was taken just after I left the building heading for the car to drive home. 

I've reduced my attendance of the two day meeting in Wellington to one day, as there are too many legal issues for Wednesday to leave to a first year registrar who will have her first day on the ward tomorrow. 

It's an odd sort of retirement I've given myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.