The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Common Emerald Moth

Another Moth to add to all the other moth blips I have done.

This little green beauty is a Common Emerald Moth, another garden species tick. I really should keep a list. I would dearly love a moth trap, but the keyword in that sentence is "dear" ... they don't come cheap! I suspect this garden would make for some brilliant moths, as I have seen all the common hawkmoths in this area, and one or two scarcities like the Lime Hawkmoth I found in the lab a year or so ago.

I'm starting a get a bit of a thing about moths I must confess, they are far more diverse and interesting than butterflies (sorry butterfly lovers).

I took this photo this morning at 8:12 am ... exactly 12hrs before the official start of the Olympiad. The fridge is stocked with a few cans and a bottle of wine to get us through tonight's opening ceremony. After all the whining, and cock ups the greatest show on the planet is about to start ... I can't wait!

Rejected Blips:

Different View Of The Moth

A grey squirrel pretending to drive a car ...

Is That A Pop Bottle He's Pointing At Me?

And my visit with RSPB Cymru to Grassholm featured on the Welsh News tonight ... I'm in it with an epic fail of field craft! Have a look here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.