Full Circle

Two years ago I took a photo very like this one, of the same lupins, and used it as part of my portfolio for my HNC interview. That photo was taken, as were all my photos in those days, with my phone camera. I applied for the HNC so that I could learn to use a 'proper camera'. 

Today the postie brought my HND certificate. 

These last two years have been brilliant. I've loved being a student, I've loved being at college. I've loved the challenges of learning new things in my 50s. I've loved using the darkroom and (to my surprise) the studio. I've loved seeing the creativity of my fellow students and holding an exhibition and learning to use Photoshop. I've enjoyed the banter with staff and students and finding about about different kinds of music and different ways of seeing the world. Through photography I've made friends and been to some amazing places.

So THANK YOU! to my tutors, who believed in me, and D for his encouragement (and for making my tea when I got home). I can now use a proper camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.