PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Stump, bottle

Struggling a little bit, just with the neuro stuff. Still experiencing a weird kind of disconnect between my expectations of myself and the reality of what I can do. It inevitably leads to an internal rage. A hissy fit of epic proportions at times. Angry at myself.

We have a chaffinch in our garden. He's a bit mad. He constantly throws himself at our front windows. Day in, day out, since Friday his rage has known no bounds. We presume he's getting mad at his own reflection. Apparently it's fairly common. We've called him Bob. I identify with Bob. Bob Chaffinch.

The camera. Well the camera makes it disappear. At least for a while, I inhabit something else other than my unruly body.

LR/LR MOBILE/ON1

I'm trying to slow down my process. So today, I hand metered every single shot. Working towards a digital zone system, which is essentially exposing for the highlights instead of the shadows. I think digital sensors actually lend themselves to the zone system at least as well as roll film. Probably better.

This image is me pulling at the thread of a possibly well worn idea. The extra image below is, I think, prettier, "zonier" if you like, but not necessarily pulling at any thread at all apart from a technical one.

I'll admit, my beloved white background washes out the shadow tones, so I recommend going large for the grey background to see them as intended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.