Help Save the Snow Leopards

Fund raising site: https://fundrazr.com/915Iq1

Two weeks ago I received the fantastic news that I could join a snow leopard conservation trek in India's Kumaon Himalaya in September. I have seen some film of these remarkable big cats. So today, to celebrate 1,500 blips, I went to Servion Zoo near Lausanne where they have a pair of snow leopards. I had an amazing couple of hours there. I was expecting to be angry at them for keeping the snow leopards in captivity but the leopards come from other zoos and are part of a conservation programme also, where male snow leopards in captivity may be taken to areas where there are only females and introduced to impregnate the females. This pair of snow leopards have a great enclosure and they came right in front of the observation window to show me their beauty. I know we will never see them in the wild like this, I felt totally emotional, knowing that we shall be helping to save these beautiful cats. I had not appreciated how big they are. I think I am in love! Sorry to go on.....

More on Flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/hilarysview/

Thank you all for the wonderful support you have given me on my Blip journey so far. This is a very special community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.