But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Au Lit.

I remember being strangely attracted to “Au Lit,” a painting by Édouard Vuillard, when I was at school, which was odd because I find it a remarkably unattractive piece of work. I bought this pottery variation for Mrs. TD’s birthday, more years ago than is good for us to remember, from an artisan potter who had a small gallery in the shopping precinct in Westbury Village, a small piece of suburbia in north  Bristol.
 
The pottery is long since gone, but I still like this little piece and it is one of the “things that make me smile” - which is the theme for this week’s MonoMonday hosted by RedFlash.
 
It is good that RF should want a little humour in her challenge as it is, sadly, frowned on in artistic circles, particularly photography. Strange, as Mozart composed “A Musical Joke,” a very well-known piece that virtually no one can name, and Millais included a touch of whimsy in the bottom right-hand corner of his portrait of Mariana. Then there is the most often asked question of the artistic world, “Why is the Mona Lisa smiling?”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.