Happy (early) Fathers Day

I wasn't supposed to get my new TomTom SatNav until Sunday but I'm going to drop Dhylan off at his Scout camp on Friday and I'm not familiar with where it is located.
My old TomTom (Go730) packed in a couple of weeks ago, it was 7.5 years old (got it for my 60th from my Favourite Mother in Law), but the battery had packed in. Seems such a terrible waste when a battery renders the whole thing unusable. The battery had been pretty useless for at least a couple of years but I always used it powered up in the car and on the bike so it was ok. 
Checked with TomTom support and there is no support for the 730 (expression is 'End of Life') and they won't even give advice any longer. I took the back off and the board inside and accessed the battery but found it solidly stuck onto the casing.
However, I find the new Go51 very easy to use and after setting it all up last night I gave it a trial run when I picked Lennon up this afternoon.
Me - "Hello TomTom"
It    -  "I'm Listening" (That's a first, it's a ladies voice)
Me - "Go Home"
It    - "Planning a route to Home"
         "Take the next left................. etc............" (she didn't say that of course!).

So just waiting for the new cable for the bike (TomTom changed the connector of course, 730 had a mini USB, 51 has a micro USB).

The present was from the 'Children', Daniel, Johanna, Julia, and also Betty, Favourite Mother in Law.
Thanks everyone, I love it.

P.S. I was stopped at traffic lights when I took the photo before anyone shouts at me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.